Skip to content

MICHIO KUSHI [May 17, 1926 – December 28, 2014]

December 30, 2014

Michio Kushi (May 17, 1926 - December 28, 2014)

With great sadness we announce that our beloved husband, father and brother, Michio Kushi, 88, passed away peacefully the morning of December 28, 2014 in Boston, due to complications related to metastatic pancreatic cancer. On his last day, he was fully conscious and surrounded by his wife and sons. He is survived by his wife, Midori, brother, four sons, fourteen grandchildren and two great-grandchildren.

Information about memorial services will be forthcoming and will be posted at the michiokushi.org website..

THE KUSHI FAMILY

訃報

KUSHI INSTITUTE INTERNATIONAL 会長である久司道夫が、2014年12月28日 未明(ボストン時間)、享年89歳にて逝去いたしました。 ここに生前のご厚誼を深く感謝するとともに、謹んでお知らせいたします。 なお、日本における「お別れの会」につきましては、決定次第、ご連絡申し上げます。

KUSHI INSTITUTE INTERNATIONAL東京連絡先

久司正夫
金久保宏高

http://www.michiokushi.org/

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2014 12:11 pm

    He was and is one of the greatest influences of my life. It was the same with you and your family but far more. Blessings and condolences to you and your family at this deep transitional time.  Linda K. Langlois

  2. Daniel permalink
    December 30, 2014 1:15 pm

    As a newcomer to macrobiotics, I can still honor the life and influence of Michio by understanding his path, goals, and teachings and expressing my appreciation for him and his family. Phiya, my thoughts are with you and your family.

  3. December 30, 2014 4:37 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss, sincere condolences to you and your family… He is very missed already and the contribution he made is too invaluable for mere words, blessings to him and you always…as one who has metaphysical beliefs, I know he just moved on and LOVE never, ever dies, changes form…yet for all that, it does not make it easier! be well and many blessings

  4. George Bakhos permalink
    December 30, 2014 5:53 pm

    Micchio has been a great inspiration througout the past 25 years of my life. Words cannot express the gratitude for the life long learning that he has brought forward. Thanking Michio and all the Kushi family for all the inspiring and informative information. My deepest condulances to all the family

  5. Eugenia CdeM permalink
    December 30, 2014 6:58 pm

    Phiya: My condolences to you and the Kushi family. I consider myself very lucky to have met Michio and I am thankful for the changes he inspired in our family life.Sincerely,Eugenia C de Millan

    From: Phiya Kushi To: eugeniacdem@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, December 30, 2014 11:06 AM Subject: [New post] MICHIO KUSHI [May 17, 1926 – December 28, 2014] #yiv6985551072 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6985551072 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6985551072 a.yiv6985551072primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6985551072 a.yiv6985551072primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6985551072 a.yiv6985551072primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6985551072 a.yiv6985551072primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6985551072 WordPress.com | phiyakushi posted: “With great sadness we announce that our beloved husband, father and brother, Michio Kushi, 88, passed away peacefully the morning of December 28, 2014 in Boston, due to complications related to metastatic pancreatic cancer. On his last day, he was” | |

  6. AKidder permalink
    December 30, 2014 8:45 pm

    My deepest heartfelt condolences to you Phiya and all of your family. I am happy and fortunate to have personally met your father on the 2013 Holistic Health Cruise at which time I had a consultation from him. With sympathy on your loss, Adele Kidder

  7. Gail Keith permalink
    January 1, 2015 2:23 pm

    I am so grateful for the work Michio Kushi did and the impact it had on my life. My sympathies to you and your family Phiya.

  8. Robi Salazar permalink
    January 2, 2015 4:49 pm

    Michio was probably my first teacher of Oriental wisdom back in NYC in 1970-71. His lectures were so inspiring. I learned cosmology, the play of Yin and Yang, ecology, the benefits of voluntary poverty, the way of eating in harmony with the environment, the continuum of spirit and matter. These just became part of my frame of reference over the years and it was only recently that I realized they originated with his teachings. I wish I could have seen him one more time to express my deep gratitude. My sincere condolences to the Kushi family and community.

  9. January 13, 2015 2:42 pm

    Michio is the reason I am alive today. I met Michio in the early 70s, having been part of the White Spruce farm group in Fernie with Duncan and Susan Sim. I was encouraged to travel to Boston and did so, met Michio for dinner and attended his lectures along with Wiiliam Dufty’s.
    I wlll always remember the dinner and the lecture I attended after where he asked us to define love on a piece of paper…quite an exercise in futility.
    I will also remember taking care of his children when they were sent to White Spruce Farm one summer.
    Michio was and will always be my Sensei. He inspired me to re-discover my health and and eventually open a natural food store.

    thank you for helping me seeing and experience life in the most beautiful way my Sensei. I will surely miss you!

    -Richard Ternouth
    Winnipeg, Canada

  10. January 15, 2015 1:31 am

    I had the honor to see Michio one last time 4 months before his departure.
    These things that he said I will always remember. I feel at the conference he was preparing us for his departure from this reality…
    He specifically said:” I don’t know how much longer I will be with you, no one knows,( I feel he did though) I felt in my gut then this will be the last time I see you old friend( we met in the 80’s and had many personal exchanges at dinner and such over the many years including traveling with him to Japan, I remember him always looking out for me like a kind Father would.
    So what I remember most that he said was:
    We never die. (he kept repeating that)
    We came here to play (live as if life is a picnic)
    Food governs your destiny. (Heaven and earth puts a certain amount in your storehouse) so eat wisely and moderately)
    sing songs everyday.
    And when you depart your high vibration and understanding of yourself will determine the dimension you will end up at. High or low…
    What was most important to him I felt at this time was to restore the Kushi conference at the Kushi institute grounds and restore his original dream to put the Kushi Institute on the world wide map for wholistic education and make it available on 3 levels:
    A Macrobiotic school for children.
    An educational college for young adults.
    A healing retreat and practice for adults.
    Perhaps this will now happen and make his dream come true of “one peaceful world”…Namaste

    • January 17, 2015 7:12 pm

      Beautifully said, thanks so much for sharing I so resonate wit all he expressed, that life continues and we change forms to move on to a different level of being. (I think our humanity=good deeds=high vibration just where, what level we move on to) I sense he knew he was leaving soon(sadly) Namaste, many Blessings.

Leave a Reply

