Skip to content

Mothers

January 4, 2010

Share this story on FACEBOOK

I have been re-reading my mother’s autobiography (written with the help of Alex Jack and published in 1988)  to prepare for a blog article that I am writing about her, her cancer and her passing.  As I was reading I became overwhelmed by the thought of how we all came from a mother and how, at times, we forget this fact and live life as if we have been here all along.  It is amazing for me to remember that all of us, without exception, once lived for about nine months in our mother’s womb.  The selfless act and courage that it takes for all mothers to carry and birth us is amazing and yet women become mothers everyday and repeat this miraculous process over and over again.

In re-reading my mother’s story I am learning that there is much that I did not know about her.  I regret that I now  must rely on my memories and artifacts that she left behind in order to understand her better. At the same time I am grateful to have so much available to me to help me reconfirm the amazing woman that she was.  However, I  encourage you, whose mothers are still alive to go and learn as much as you can about your mother directly from her while you still can and before it is too late.

There are many interesting anecdotes in her book. Here are a couple about her macrobiotic teacher, George Ohsawa; the man who inspired her to come to America to spread macrobiotics and pursue the dream of world peace:

I soon learned that there were three qualifications for the Maison Ignoramus [Ohsawa's macrobiotic study house].  A student of life must have a dream, poetry and passion. George Ohsawa loved these three words above all others. “You have to live in these three worlds,” he continually told us, “Otherwise you’re dead!”  His dream of world government and world peace through peaceful biological change permeated every conversation and action.

When he [Ohsawa] asked a question, he expected an immediate answer.  Whether it was a simple request or a profound inquiry – “What is faith”?  or “What is love?” – he wanted a quick, preferably poetic and passionate reply. To realize his dream he knew that time was at a premium.  World government and world peace would not be realized by a world of slow thinkers.

These are just two of many interesting anecdotes in her autobiography.  Unfortunately, this book is no longer in print.

I realize that there are many who do not and may never know who their own mothers are (and in this way I have been fortunate) and yet, despite this fact, we all seem to share  a common yearning and respect for the one who helped us arrive here on earth:

Do you like what you read here? Would you like to read more? Help me by clicking this link: DONATE Thanks!

Share this story on FACEBOOK

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 9:17 am

    Hi Phiya,
    I never knew this book even existed.

    I like that you wrote,”As I was reading I became overwhelmed by the thought of how we all came from a mother and how, at times, we forget this fact and live life as if we had been here all along. It is amazing for me to remember that all of us, without exception, once lived for about nine months in our mother’s womb.”

    We do live life as if we had been here all along.

    Good advice to others whose mothers are still on Earth in a physical body. I appeciated my mother, but not fully until she passed and move as time goes on.

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    January 4, 2010 3:52 pm

    This is a great book. Read it years ago and still have it in my collection. It was fascinating, esp. the parts about the old days. Reminded me that it is all, always a process and we can only work with whatever we have.

  3. Macro MAn permalink
    February 12, 2010 9:20 am

    Awesome !

  4. María permalink
    May 31, 2012 6:39 am

    All my respect to you for keeping your mother and sister´s memories alive through the beautiful and loving writings and work, you have done and you are doing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

